Task 2: Articulating good practice (no more than 2 hours) (badge activity)

Hazel
Brief inventory of good practice - Hazel Rothera
by Hazel Rothera - Thursday, 7 May 2015, 8:21 PM

My inventory is attached. My comments and reflections on putting it together:

My online learning and teaching context: as an Academic Liaison Librarian, I am usually designing one-shot sessions or activities rather than a whole programme, and dropping them in to modules and courses designed by others. I am rarely if ever involved in programme design, or in setting or carrying out summative assessment.

I therefore often have to work quite hard to find out the context in which I am teaching - I have to try to work out where students will be on Gilly Salmon’s 5-stage model; investigate the intended learning outcomes of the course and the module, look at the assignment brief, and align my planned activities with those. I find it helps to be very explicit with students that I am doing this, as many of them expect “a Library session” to be an optional bolt-on extra (and often have not read the module handbook or assignment information themselves!)

In face-to-face teaching, I am increasingly working to embed bite-sized drop-in micro-teaching sessions (10-15 minutes) in colleagues’ lectures - whenever possible, at a timely point eg in the assignment briefing lecture, where I can align what I am showing students with the assessment. Focus group research I undertook 2 years ago with first-year students for my Learning & Teaching Fellowship underlined the importance of embedded, timely micro-teaching like this rather than annual “one-shots” which students struggled to align with their learning (“we didn’t use the Library for weeks after that so we didn’t remember…”) This year I have begun to offer Reusable Learning Objects (eg short tutorial videos) in Moodle courses in a similar way.