Task 2: Articulating good practice (no more than 2 hours) (badge activity)

KStaples
Inventory of Good Practice Katherine Staples
by Katherine Staples - Wednesday, 6 May 2015, 8:44 AM

Hi all

Here is my inventory of good practice. I'm slightly over the 30 lines, but hope that I've included all that I wanted to / meant to.

I think mine is a fairly general inventory. Yes, I was making it for my own use, but I was assuming I was a tutor, not the Librarian I currently am. I would therefore hope that it could be used by others in other disciplines.

I have focussed heavily on the course design and course support aspects of an online course, as I believe these two things to be crucial to a successful course.

Katherine

Picture of marion waite
Re: Inventory of Good Practice Katherine Staples
by marion waite - Wednesday, 6 May 2015, 2:35 PM

Hi Katherine

Thank you. Liz has posted a question to Mike about the potential hazrds of tutor responses, this is do you think there may be a risk of stifling interaction and peer learning, if the tutor is always the respondent?

I am also going to suggest as I am with everyone else on the thread that you take a look at least two other participant inventories and compare them with yours? where are the similarities and differences?

Marion

KStaples
by Katherine Staples - Thursday, 7 May 2015, 3:46 PM

Hi Marion

Thanks for your reply. Yes I agree there could be a risk that the tutors are stifling the conversation, but personally, as a student, I always find it reassuring to know that I'm thinking along the right lines. Within this particular cohort - I do think that people are willing to comment and critique, but that i think was probably facilitated well by you, Abi and Liz in the first couple of weeks.